Tags

, ,

Clara Josephine Wieck Schumann ( September 13,...
Clara Wieck Schumann ~ Image via Wikipedia

The highly respected Collaborative Piano Blog has a recent post about an arm massaging device. I’m wondering what you think.

Performance injuries are not discussed nearly often enough, so I’m hoping we can get something going here.  Prevention requires awareness. Most people don’t “go there” until they are injured themselves.  And lack of information equals more serious injury.  Once someone is on that path, the slide into serious injury doesn’t take long at all.

So let’s get it out there and create some buzz!

Ragarding the massage device, I respectfully disagree. In my opinion, if someone feels a need to use the device mentioned in the blog post indicated above, then they have most likely allowed pain to progress.  Massage will not make it go away while someone is still playing day and night.

Instead, what is needed is more awareness. Taking breaks, alternating hands, supporting everything the arms are involved in throughout the day, and stretching in the opposite direction of the playing are all elements of good playing health.

Similar activities need to be alternated with less stressful ones. For example, practicing followed by weight-lifting or vice-versa would cause continuous stress on the arms, hands, shoulders, back, and neck.  Why not take a walk, wash the dishes, or read an article or two after whichever activity you do first?  (FYI, practicing before weight-lifting protects the small hand muscles best.  After lifting weights, it can be hard to feel your fingers.  Doing things in that order affects my playing.)

Other things we do all day long can be altered, too. Small changes make an enormous difference. Using plastic dishes rather than pottery saves carrying weight across the kitchen.  Alternating hands helps a lot.

Using not just the hands, but also incorporating the arms, shoulders, and back means that bigger muscles are taking the stress.

Supporting the elbows at the waist (just press your arms into your body gently) means that healthy angles are being used.  That translates into less stress.

Body alignment is always a factor.  Do you keep your feet on the floor when you practice, supporting your body?  It’s more fun to perch them on the rungs of the chair, but that will affect your comfort sooner than you may realize.

In addition, aerobic exercise is crucial.  Our fingers need good circulation, because the muscles are so small.  They are not built for all that work.

Staying on top of one’s general health and eating habits needs attention.  If your metabolism is down, for instance, that will affect your playing as well as your stress tolerance.  The potato chip diet really doesn’t work, either.

Here’s where I’m coming from:

I was injured while working at an intense law firm job. That was several years ago.  Following the injury, I was very fortunate to be treated by doctors and physical therapists at the top of the field.  Now I know the triggers and warning signs, and have been successful in handling the situation.

This is how things proceeded: Even when I knew things were serious (i.e., I was typing with pain), I didn’t stop because I was afraid I would lose my job.  The pain got so bad, I was typing letters with one hand.

I kept working until I could get a doctor’s appointment a month later.

Big mistake. I then had to stop completely for 6 months.  I wouldn’t wish that on anyone.

Restarting practicing was also so hard I wanted to cry.  The allowable time at the beginning was one minute with 1/2 hr. off.  Repeat.  What, exactly, can you “practice” in one minute?  That’s about enough time for 4 whole notes!

After a week or two of near-total frustration, I made a pact with myself.  I wrote down the time I started and turned the clock around.  The iron clad rule was that I had to stop immediately when I felt anything like an inkling of pain.

It worked.  The total time I was able to play ended up being 45 minutes.  So then I could increase slowly from there.

One of the doctors who treated me in NY now works in the Occupational Health department at Mt. Sinai.  (The other, now retired, has written two definitive books on the subject, both available in paperback.)  The Mt. Sinai doctor told me that, due to experiencing the injuries I did and subsequently obtaining treatment and retraining (someone watched me play, for which I am very grateful), I know as much concerning this type of injury as someone who has completed a year of physical therapy school.  I appreciate what he said, but also w0uld not want that to be my only claim to fame!

A coworker at the law firm, a very talented painter, was injured so badly she was forced to change fields for life.  She is now a psychotherapist.

This link will take you to several posts on this blog concerning injury, health, longevity, and injury prevention.

As you can tell, this is a volatile topic for me!

So yes!  Get a massage.  But don’t use massage to avoid other changes you need to make.  If you truly need massage because you are in pain, then it’s time to look at what you do every day.  No “Band-aid” temporary solutions.

Also, you can massage your arms effectively without using anything other than your opposite hand.  Or go to a massage therapist.

And stay aware. Then you’ll circumvent injury in the first place.  Believe me, you don’t want to go there.

What do you think?  Have you ever incurred performance-related injuries?  What did you do about that?  Please discuss in the comment section below.

Thank you!

Wait! If you have a minute, please click on this button! You will be sending more traffic to my blog for FREE!

Alpha Inventions Site Ranking
Blog Networking in Real-time

I just tested this. It works! When you click, the new site instantly rates my blog as #1. Hang out for a few seconds, and you’ll see my home page on the new site! : )

Way cool.

Back to top

Enhanced by Zemanta